When was the Indian Parliamentary Diplomacy written?

Asked 27-Aug-2018
Viewed 875 times

1 Answer


The book “Indian Parliamentary Diplomacy- Speaker’s Perspective” is written by the Former Speaker of Lok Sabha “Meira Kumar”. The book was released on March 19, 2015. Officially the book was released by another Lok Sabha Speaker Smt. Sumitra Mahajan, whereas, the first copy of the book was handed over to the then President of India “Pranab Mukherjee” by Mahajan.

When was the Indian Parliamentary Diplomacy written?
The book basically reiterates the experiences of Meira Kumar in the written form, while she was the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. Basically, she narrated her experiences and views with her writing. The book features the Diplomacy in the Parliament and its role in Foreign Policy and strengthening the International Relations. The book also includes some selected speeches and report of Meira Kumar during her tenure as the Speaker of Lok Sabha. As well as, the speeches she said as a leader of Indian Parliamentary Delegation at the various International platforms. The book also narrates how International Relations were being strengthened.
During the book release ceremony, President Pranab Mukherjee congratulated her and appreciated her writing by saying that every reader and politician who read this book can learn a number of lessons from her observations in the book. President even appreciated her working tenure by saying, managing the Office of Speaker is very crucial. The Parliament depicts the will and requirement of the people. The Speaker is the one who manages the flow of work and the Members who represent the rights, privileges, and performances of the people who represent the spirit and aspiration of numerous variety of people of the Country.
Meira Kumar was the Lawyer and the former diplomat, after that she joined politics. She is the only and the first unopposed elected women Speaker of Lok Sabha from the year 2009 to 2014. She was also the Member of Parliament for 5 times and was elected to the 8th, 11th, 12th, 14th, and 15th Lok Sabha.