Who has been appointed as the deputy leader of BJP in the Lok Sabha?

Asked 17-Jun-2019
Viewed 814 times

1 Answer


“Rajnath Singh” the Defence Minister of India has been appointed as the Deputy Leader of Bhartiya Janta Party in the Lok Sabha.

Who has been appointed as the deputy leader of BJP in the Lok Sabha?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi became the leader of BJP in Lok Sabha. Besides these three women whips, 15 other whips for Lok Sabha have also been appointed for parliamentarians from different states, where its strength has increased to 303. The newly formed BJP parliamentary party executive committee marks a drastic shift of generation in the party because perhaps it would be the first time when L. K. Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi are not part of it, as both are not MPs. Along with them, Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj are also not a member of the party.

Rajnath Singh before being the Defence Minister was the Home Minister of India in the Modi Government. He has been the President of BJP for two times i.e. from 2005 to 2009 and 2013 to 2014. He started his political career at a very young age, and at the age of 24, in 1975, he became the district President of Jana Sangh party. Later, in 1977, from the Mirzapur district, he was elected as the Member of Legislative Assembly.

As a milestone in his political career, he became the first BJP government Education Minister from Uttar Pradesh in the year 1991. Later, he became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in the year 2000. However, in 2013, he was re-elected as the National President of BJP which following the resignation of Nitin Gadkari due to corruption charges on January 24, 2013. He contested the Lok Sabha election from Lucknow constituency in 2014 and 2019 and both time he was elected as the Member of Parliament by the verdict of the whole public.