Who won the inaugural asia cup championship ?

Asked 14-Aug-2018
Viewed 689 times

1 Answer


The first edition of Asia Cup Championship (ACC) was conducted in the year 1984 and was won by team India.
The Asia Cup Championship was started to promote goodwill between the Asian Countries. At that time the participant countries were; India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Later, Bangladesh also joined this Asia Cup Championship.
Who won the inaugural asia cup championship ?
The championship has been played in two different formats i.e. One Day International Tournament and T20 International Tournament. From 2016, the T20 International Tournament has started. As a result, every fourth year each tournament is played. Before this only One Day, International was played in every two years. The tournament has been played in a ‘Round-Robin’ Format.
Till now, the 14 Tournaments have been played of One Day International in the Asia Cup Championship. In which India has been the most successful country with a maximum of 6 titles, and followed by Sri Lanka with 5 titles. Till now, only a single championship of T20 International Tournament has been organized in the year 2016. The winner of this introductory championship was India.
At present, the participant countries in the Asia Cup Championship in One Day International are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Hong Kong, and The United Arab Emirates. Whereas, the participant countries of T20 International Tournament are, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, United Arab Emirates, Afghanistan, Oman, and Hong Kong.