How are the Members of the Lok Sabha elected?

Asked 16-Jun-2018
Viewed 402 times

1 Answer


Members of the Lok Sabha are chosen to represent their constituencies by adult universal suffrage and a first-past-the-post system, and they serve for five years or until the body is abolished by the President on the suggestion of the council of ministers.

How are the Members of the Lok Sabha elected?

The two houses of India's bicameral Parliament are the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. The lower chamber (house of the people) of Parliament in the Lok Sabha, and the upper chamber is the Rajya Sabha. Members of the Lok Sabha are chosen in general elections, which are held based on universal adult suffrage. According to the Constitution, the Lok Sabha can have a maximum of 552 members, with 530 from the states, 20 from the seven Union Territories (Article 81), and two from the Anglo-Indian community chosen by the President.

The total elected seats are apportioned among the states in a manner that the percentage of seats assigned to each state vs the state's population is almost equal in all states. The Lok Sabha is only in session for five years before dissolving. However, Parliament has the authority to extend this term in the event of an emergency.

To become a member of the Lok Sabha, a candidate must meet the following qualifications, according to Article 84 of the Indian constitution:
1. The applicant must be a citizen of India.
2. The candidate must be over the age of 25.
3. The nominee must not occupy a profit-making position in the Indian government or any other state's government.
4. The candidate's mentality should not be shaky.
5. The candidate must adhere to the party's rules.