What is the official language of india ?

0 votes
Anonymous User asked 23-Oct-2018 in Nationalism by Anonymous User
edited 23-Oct-2018 by Sanat-Shukla

'Because, Why the language of a country is its soul.'

What is the official language of india ?

1 Answer

0 votes
Anonymous User answered 25-Oct-2018 by Anonymous User

The Constitution of India chosen Hindi written in Devnagari script as the official language of the Government of India as well as the English language too. There is no any National Language of India as mentioned in the Constitution of India. Hindi is used as official purpose like, in Parliament Proceedings, Judiciary, Communication between Central Government and State Governments. The Indian States have the liberty and powers to assign their own official language(s) through legislation. Therefore there are 22 officially recognized languages in India of which Hindi is the most used.

List of all the 22 languages specified in the constitution is as follows:
S.No.           Language                     Spoken in States
1                  Assamese                Assam, Arunachal Pradesh.
2                 Bengali                    West Bengal, Assam and Tripura, Andaman islands and Bangladesh.
3                 Hindi                         Almost every part of the country including North-Central India.
4                 Gujarati                    Gujarat, Daman and Diu.
5                 Kashmiri                  Kashmir.
6                 Kannada                  Karnataka.
7                 Konkani                   It is the official language of Goa but spoken in Southern Maharashtra,
                                                      North Karnataka, Kerala also.
8                 Manipuri                Manipur, Assam, Mizoram, and Tripura.
9                 Malayalam             Southwestern Kerala, Lakshadweep, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.
10               Marathi                    It is the official language of Maharashtra, it is spoken in Goa, Karnataka,
                                                      Gujarat, Daman and Diu and Dadar and Nagar Haveli.
11                Nepali                      It is the national language of Nepal. It is also spoken in Sikkim,
                                                     West Bengal, North-eastern states, Bhutan, Tibet and Myanmar.
12               Punjabi                    It is principle language of Punjab but spoken in Himachal Pradesh,
                                                     Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan, Pakistan, USA, Canada and Australia also.
13               Odia                          Orissa.
14               Sanskrit                   At present; this language is not spoken in almost any part of India. But it
                                                     is still spoken in Mattur (Mathur) village of Karnataka state.
15               Tamil                        Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry
16               Sindhi                       Gujarat
17               Urdu                         It is an additional official language of Jammu & Kashmir, Telangana,
                                                     Delhi, Bihar, and Uttar Pradesh.
18               Bodo                        Bodo or Baro is a Tibetan-Burmese language spoken by Bodo people
                                                     living in north-east, Nepal and Bangladesh.
19               Telugu                     Andhra Pradesh and Telangana states.
20              Maithili                    Northern region of Bihar.
21               Santali                      Assam, Jharkhand, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Tripura and Bengal.
22              Dogri                       Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh and Punjab. Dogri is
                                                    the dialect of Punjabi.