How is the American continent divided?

Asked 04-Oct-2022
Viewed 315 times

1 Answer


The Americas, also known as America, are a landmass that includes the entirety of North and South America. The American continent is made up of two continents and the world's largest island, North America, South America, and Greenland. Central America and the Caribbean are commonly regarded as being part of North America.

The Americas, which comprise the New World, cover the majority of the land in the Western Hemisphere. The Americas cover 8.3 percent of the Earth's surface area and 28.5 percent of its total land area, covering 42.55 million km2 (16,428,000 sq mi).
Canada has the most land area (9,984,670 km2), followed by the United States (9,833,517 km2), Brazil (8,515,770 km2), and Argentina (2,780,400 km2). Saint Kitts and Nevis, with 261 km2, is the smallest independent country in the Americas.

How is the American continent divided?

North America is the largest and most populous region of the continent, with a population of over 540 million people. It is home to the United States, Canada, and Mexico, as well as numerous smaller nations and territories. North America is a land of great diversity, with a wide range of cultures, languages, and climates.

South America is the southernmost region of the continent. It has a population of over421 million people. South America is home to Brazil, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela. The continent has a wide range of landscapes, from the Andes mountains to the Amazon rainforest. South America is also home to some of the world's most iconic animals, such as the llama, the alpaca, and the jaguar.

The American continents are also home to a number of island nations, including the Bahamas, Cuba, Haiti, and Puerto Rico in the Caribbean; and Greenland, Iceland, and the Falkland Islands in the North Atlantic.