What are the fundamentals of democracy?

Asked 28-Sep-2022
Viewed 133 times

1 Answer


The fundamental properties of democracy are legal equality, political freedom, rule of law. 
Legal equality means all people have equal rights. They can speak to volunteers, they can go anywhere in India, and they can live anywhere in the Indian Territory. They can take any education according to their ability. They can appear in any examination according to their eligibility criteria. 

Political freedom means a person can be a member of the Parliament, legislative, etc. They're no discrimination against their religion, their state territory, and so on. Also, there is no discrimination based on colour or money too.  For example, pm Modi belongs to Gujarat but they are a member of the Parliament from Varanasi up. And he is also the pm of India. So it's political freedom for a person can elect from anywhere in the Indian Territory. 

Rule of Law means a body that is specifically designed for following the policy formed by the government. This body may be a high court, Supreme Court, local police etc. Rules are formed by the government but its strictly governed by the instructions of these bodies. These bodies play a crucial role in the democracy of India.