What are Articles 3 and 4 of the Indian Constitution?

Asked 28-Sep-2022
Viewed 341 times

1 Answer


Indian Constitution is the largest written Constitution in the world. The main role played to write Constitution was Dr B.R. Ambedkar. It has been ratified on 26 November 1949 but it become effective on 26th January 1950. It's also called the book of the law. It has three branches Executive, Legislature and Judiciary. At the time of effectiveness, it has 395 articles,22 parts, and 8 scheduled but now it becomes 470 articles, 22 parts, and 12 scheduled.  Here is the number of amendments that are 105 times. 

According to article 3 of the Indian Constitution÷
1] Parliament has the right the formation any new state inside in Indian Territory.
2] Parliament can change the name of any place.
3] Parliament has the power to alter the boundaries of the Indian state
4] Parliament has the power to increase or diminish the area of the Indian state. 

According to article 4 of the Indian Constitution, the laws formed for the amendment of article 2 and article 3 will not be a violation of article 368. It means these bills become an act bypassing the simple majority from parliament for articles 2 and 3.