India shares land borders with how many countries?

Asked 08-Mar-2019
Viewed 678 times

1 Answer


Being the largest country in South Asia, India shares borders with six countries. This includes Pakistan, China, Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar and Bangladesh. In this, people can easily move from one country to another on the borders of Nepal, Bhutan and Myanmar. At the same time, strict checking is done at the borders of Pakistan, China and Bangladesh.

India has a total land border of 15,106.7 km and a coastline of 7,516.6 km including island areas. The official name of India is the Republic of India, our country is the largest country in the Indian subcontinent located in South Asia. It is located entirely in the Northern Hemisphere, India is geographically the seventh-largest country in the world (1.Russia, 2.Canada, 3.China, 4.America, 5.Brazil, 6.Australia, 7.India) , While being the second largest country in terms of population.

Pakistan is located in the west of India, China, Nepal and Bhutan in the northeast, Bangladesh and Myanmar in the east. The Indian Ocean shares its maritime border with the Maldives to its southwest, Sri Lanka to the south and Indonesia to the southeast. The physical boundary to its north is bordered by the Himalayas and to the south by the Indian Ocean. To the east is the Bay of Bengal and to the west is the Arabian Sea. 

India's neighbouring countries and their capitals

Pakistan (Islamabad)
Afghanistan Kabul
China (Beijing)
Kathmandu Nepal
Bhutan (Thimphu)
Bangladesh (Dhaka)
Myanmar (Naypyidaw)
Sri Lanka [Maritime boundary] (Sri Lanka) Colombo and Sri Jayawardenepura Kotti
Maldives [maritime boundary] (Maldive) Male