Who has been awarded the UN's Dag Hammarskjold Medal?

0 votes
Mishra Ji asked 29-May-2019 in Current affair by Mishra Ji

 Who has been awarded the UN's Dag Hammarskjold Medal?

1 Answer

0 votes

Overall 119 Military, Police, and Civilian Personnel have been awarded the medal for their courage and sacrifice in the line of duty and laid down their lives while serving in the United Nation Organization Stabilization Mission in the Central African country with the United Nation’s Dag Hammarskjold Medal.

 Who has been awarded the UN

The Secretary-General Antonio Guterres of United Nation’s has honored the Indian Police Officer “Jitendra Kumar” with the prestigious medal for sacrificing his life during the world body's peacekeeping mission in the war-torn Democratic Republic of the Congo. India's envoy to the United Nation, Syed Akbaruddin, received the award on his behalf.

More than 3,800 peacekeepers have lost their lives in the 72 peacekeeping missions since 1948. India the country who has lost the maximum number of its deployed peacekeepers in various UN peacekeeping operations during the last 70 years, among them, 163 military, police and civilian personnel from the country sacrificed their lives on the line of duty.

The International Day of United Nations Peacekeepers was established in the year 2002 by the General Assembly, to pay their tribute to all men and women served during peacekeeping, and to pay honor in the memory of those who have lost their lives to attain peace. The General Assembly has designated the date May 29 as the International Day of United Nation Peacekeepers.

India is the 4th largest contributor of uniformed personnel to the United Nation Peacekeeping. India currently contributes more than 6,400 military and police personnel to the United Nation peace operations in different countries like Abyei, Cyprus, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Haiti, Lebanon, the Middle East, South Sudan, and Western Sahara.

The medal was named after ‘Dag Hammarskjold’, he was the 2nd Secretary-General of the United Nations. The first medal was awarded in the year 1998, to the family of Dag Hammarskjold. Whereas, he died in a plane crash in the year 1961, during the cease-fire negotiation during the Congo Crisis.

Become a sponsor