What are the guidelines to delete an Account in Salesforce?

0 votes
359 views
Anonymous User asked 04-Feb-2018 in SalesForce by Anonymous User
edited 05-Feb-2018 by Vihaan-rai

What are the guidelines to delete an Account in Salesforce?

1 Answer

0 votes
Anonymous User answered 05-Feb-2018 by Anonymous User

In Salesforce most of the Accounts and their associated records can be deleted on one click, but some of the accounts cannot be deleted until the related or associated records have been deleted or removed.

Some important points to delete an Account:

  • If we have a permission to delete an account then we will see the Delete option, and it will be available on the detail page of the account and on its row in the account list page in both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience.
  • An account cannot be deleted if we don’t have the Delete permission on Accounts, and also if we are not the Account’s owner or above in the role hierarchy or an Administrator.
  • Partner Account cannot be deleted if he has any child records, associated cases, activated contracts or related opportunities that other users own. And if Partner account is associated with a channel program membership then also the Partner account will not be deleted.
  • Any account we want to delete which has closed/won opportunities we own, we have to delete the closed/won opportunities along with the account or keep the account. If we want to delete an account that is associated with a channel program membership, we have to delete the membership before deleting the account. 

NOTE:

  • Business Accounts are available in both the Salesforce versions Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience.
  • Business Accounts are available in all the editions of Salesforce.
  • Person Accounts are available in both the Salesforce versions Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience.
  • Person Accounts are available in Developer, Enterprise, Professional, Performance and Unlimited Editions of the Salesforce.
All the Deleted Accounts are moved to the Recycle Bin with its associated items. But one thing to remember that Recycle bin is not available in Lightning Experience, but deleted items still go into it. So, to view the Delete Items Switch to Salesforce Classic temporarily to view or restore recycle bin items.